A Time Capsule of Change: 11​/​9​/​2016

by The Moments Collective

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Paying supporters also get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app.

      name your price




*includes visual art and texts, as well as audio, in the download*

Today marks a turning point in the history of the United States. Last night, Americans democratically elected Donald Trump to become our next President. Moments like these are incomprehensible - it takes time to comprehend such tectonic shifts - and we believe it to be a worthwhile, productive, and therapeutic act to rest within these moments, and to create art. After a short, mildly hysteric phone call this morning about what in the world we could do, we decided to reach out to our networks, inviting friends, family, and anyone interested, to create something today. There were no limits on what people create, only a loose suggestion that they remain close to one minute in length. We’ve received a number of really wonderful responses, and have compiled them here. This is free, and available to anyone interested in how one processes and expressed the hours following the election of Donald Trump.

Hayden Arp
November 9th, 2016

The artistic community has always been stubborn. Today we find ourselves stuck in what feels like a slightly prolonged nightmare, unsure of the waves of hatred, fear, and anxiety to come. If history is any indicator, however, the arts will be sensitive to that. In fact, I'd go as far as to say the arts are -hypersensitive-. That's why now, more than ever, people need to buckle up and use their art. We're headed directly into a major change not just in aestheticism, but the very media and structures we use to create. This digital, open-access, compilation is the first step in redefining the type of art that matters to us most. This is your beginning. This is your movement. And starting now, you get to define what it is.

Kirk Pearson
November 9th, 2016


released November 10, 2016

Thank you to everybody who submitted materials, in no particular order.

The sonic: Blueday, Griffin Jennings, Katie Burke, BIT, Will Johnson, Hayden Arp, Cole Blouin, Flyable Hog, The World All Around, Michael Eliran, Lydia Rice, Kirk Pearson, Mark Nathanson, Alex Sturbaum, Rob Jamner, Kat Mazur, and Art Artie Artemis.

The visual: Celina Siegel, Results, Elena Huang, Josh Blankfield, Sam Mater, and Shaina Vriezelaar.

The written: Becca Debus, Loisa Finchell, and Rob Jamner.



Some rights reserved. Please refer to individual track pages for license info.


The Moments Collective Oberlin, Ohio

A shifting group in a changing world. Capturing moments.

contact / help

Contact The Moments Collective

Streaming and
Download help